I Just Had to Share This – Part 2

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Motivational, Musings

In addition to yesterday’s four pictures (drawn by hand, I might add although, not MY hand) I decided to add one more that made me nod and say, ‘Yes, by God, that’s true!!’

 

It also made me think about how true it is for so many people.

 

Wait, wait, wait. Let me first post the pic – then you’ll understand.

 

How True is THAT!!!

 

You see?

‘I’ll lose those pesky ten pounds – I just have to start exercising.’

‘I’ll write that best seller – if only I could find the perfect opening sentence.’

‘I’ll go and talk to that gorgeous man/woman – I just need a great ice breaker to start me off.’

 

Sound familiar?

It sure as hell does for me!!!

 

How many golden opportunities have slipped through our fingers because we don’t get started on something? Because we hesitate? How many times have we missed out on making great memories because we first think and ponder, we wonder and worry about what the outcome will be instead of simply reacting?

 

 

‘Look before you leap’

 is a quote that comes to mind here.

It basically encourages us to stop and think, aka, NOT GETTING STARTED!!!

Yes, I concede that it implies you ‘think’ before you ‘act’ but – it’s hesitation.

 

‘How much of human life is lost in waiting.’

That tidbit comes from Ralph Waldo Emerson and it is profound, right?

Another, even more significant quote that made me gasp is one by Sam Ewing –

‘On the plains of hesitation bleach the bones of countless millions who, at the dawn of decision, sat down to wait, and waiting died.’

What more can I say?

*#*

Comments
  1. nrhatch says:

    * We cannot put off living until we are ready. The most salient characteristic of life is its urgency, “here and now” without any possible postponement. Life is fired at us point-blank. ~ Jose Ortega y Gasset

    * Tomorrow’s life is too late. Live today. ~ Marcus Valerius Martialis

    * We are here, and it is now. What else is there? ~ Kobi Yamada

    Wonderful post, Andi!

Leave a Reply

